Geez, where have I been

I want you to know that I would never stoop so low as to come up with lame excuses as a way to validate my reasons for failing to update this blog. That would be a new low for me, and I will NOT be going there. You have my word. However, I do find it hard to type with the sun glaring down into my eyes.

  • Both of the kids are taking swim lessons and loving every minute of it. Marian was moved up to the next class after only three sessions. She was blessed with her mother’s aquatic skills. Michael still doesn’t like putting his head under water. He’ll get there though.
  • Michael is having a blast with  indoor soccer and he’s also developed a killer slap shot in hockey. He loves all things hockey and all things red (because of the Red Wings. Duh!) He sat through Mike’s district finals tonight with a red hockey helmet on the entire game.
  • Marian is taking gymnastics on Saturdays but she’ll be dropping it soon to get back to indoor soccer, her favorite sport.
  • I’ve been going to physical therapy three days a week to heal the fracture in my knee (that happened during softball last spring). I’m hoping to be done soon. I actually dream of being able to work out again. I told my physical therapist she had to hurry up and fix me since softball starts in a few months. She looked at me disapprovingly and told me that was ambitious to say the least. We shall see.

Here are some pictures of the crazy Sly children.

Marian in mid-jump. With a foot of fresh snow the landing is always soft. Notice our crazy cat-dog Seamus...

Marian in mid-jump. With a foot of fresh snow the landing is always soft. Notice our crazy cat-dog Seamus...

Michael didn't get nearly as much air as his sister so I missed it. However, I did get him immediately after. He was very happy with himself.

Michael didn't get nearly as much air as his sister so I missed it. However, I did get him immediately after. He was very happy with himself.

Marian at her first school dance. She had a blast and loved learning new moves from the DJ. She also loved her outfit, especially the aqua skirt and the black boots. God help us.

Marian at her first school dance. She had a blast and loved learning new moves from the DJ. She also loved her outfit, especially the aqua skirt and the black boots. God help us.

This kid is all sports, all the time. With the balmy 40 degree weather today, he thought baseball was the way to go.

This kid is all sports, all the time. With the balmy 40 degree weather today, he thought baseball was the way to go.

Leave a Reply

