At this rate I’m destined to be a couch potato

Triathlons are hard, or so I’ve heard. I do know that training for a triathlon is hard. It’s hard on your body too. As we know from past experience, my body doesn’t like me, nor does it appreciate me being hard on it. To drive this point home, my body once again failed me while training for this triathlon. The race was yesterday and on Tuesday of last week I went to the doctor for some serious leg pain that I get when I run. It’s been happening on and off since I was in high school yet I always thought it was some strange shin splint on the side of my calf. Sunday while I was at the track jogging the pain got really bad and this big ick area sort of popped out. You can kind of see it in the picture, taken from my cell phone at the track.

What I have is Chronic Exertional Compartment Syndrome with a Facia Hernia. Not only was I not allowed to run the race, I can’t ever jog again unless I opt for the surgery to fix it. Safe to say that I won’t be jogging anymore because I’m all surgeried out. I was really bummed to miss the triathlon. I was scared to death of it because I knew it was going to be hard and painful, but I really wanted to prove to myself that I could to it. It was the first major challenge I had given myself so it felt a lot like I was wimping out by not doing it. The problem is that this little syndrome I have can kill your muscle to where it can’t be repaired. I’m moving on to other things now like tennis and yoga. I’m also in the market for a new body so if you hear of anything let me know.

One Response to “At this rate I’m destined to be a couch potato”

  1. Summer Says:

    Ok, I know this is late but just got around to reading this… I am trying to take up tennis so let’s hit the courts together if you don’t mind bumbling around with a rookie!!

Leave a Reply

